Pressing Toward the Prize

The Final Round

Posted on: December 9, 2010

We had the final round of Capstone Proposal presentations today, and once again, a wide array of interests were represented. I am always humbled by others’ presentations, be it student or faculty, because they are a graphic reminder to me of how little I actually know! I listen and watch and try to understand… but mostly, I have no idea what they are talking about!! Some of the topics that totally lost me were Panel Data Modeling, the Riemann Hypothesis, and Applications of Fuzzy Set Theory and Finite State Automata (say that three times fast!!). I did a little better job of following the presentations about rankings and the Bowl Championship Series, the push for Proofs to be taught in high school, Digital Image Interpolation, and Error Detection and Correction in Data Transmissions. I was pretty excited that I understood some of the presentation on Markov Chains, since I can still recall a bit about stochastic processes from Linear Algebra. One of the presentations was about the Mozart Dice Game, which was apparently quite popular in Europe in the 18th Century. There is a 12 x 16 table, composition rules, and one uses the roll of the dice to randomly create a minuet. I don’t understand exactly how it works, but we were able to listen to a minuet that the student had created, and it was beautiful. She is working on a project that will connect art and math, and it should be quite interesting. I was also one of the presenters today, and all I can say about that is… I am glad it’s over!!

Leave a Reply

    • gramsonjanessa: I can't wait to listen to your capstone presentation in the spring! Your proposal was really interesting and I'm interested to see how the linear alge
    • dewittda: This is impressive! I thought I was good because I solved a rubik’s cube once in an hour. I served with a guy in the Air Force who could solve a r
    • ZeroSum Ruler: The Euclidean algorithm should me the mainstream way we teach students how to find the GCF. Why isn't it? A mystery.

    Categories

